Switching tools? Setup is included on paid plans. See how

Square pricing

Every Square plan, what each one includes, and what it adds up to for a real crew. Checked against Square’s own pricing page on September 24, 2026.

Square plans and prices

Manually entered or card-on-file payments are 3.5% + 15¢ on every plan, and Afterpay is 6% + 30¢. Businesses processing over $250,000 a year can ask Square about custom pricing. Some features, such as the Kiosk and KDS apps, carry extra per-device fees.

Square plans and prices
PlanPriceUsersWhat it includes
Square Free$0/moPer locationNot stated
  • POS app, online site, and item library
  • Invoices, recurring invoices, deposits, estimates, and contracts with e-signature
  • Appointment booking with unlimited staff calendars
  • Processing: 2.6% + 15¢ in person, 3.3% + 30¢ online and invoices, 1% ACH on invoices ($1 min)
Square Plus$49/moPer locationNot stated
  • Everything in Square Free
  • Multi-package estimates, payment schedules, and batch invoices
  • Staff timecards and shift scheduling
  • Email marketing and 500 marketing texts, then 3¢ per text
  • Processing: 2.5% + 15¢ in person, 2.9% + 30¢ online and invoices, ACH capped at $10
Square Premium$149/moPer locationNot stated
  • Everything in Square Plus
  • 24/7 priority phone support and advanced reporting
  • 2,500 marketing texts, then 1.5¢ per text
  • Processing: 2.4% + 15¢ in person, 2.9% + 30¢ online and invoices
Pricing model
Per-location monthly plans plus per-transaction processing fees
Contract
No long-term contract; Square says you can cancel or switch plans anytime

Source: Square pricing page, checked September 24, 2026.

What Square costs for your crew

Estimated monthly cost from each vendor's published pricing, before taxes, payment processing, and promotions.

Estimated monthly cost by crew size
Crew sizeRevCore ProSquare
3-person crew$249/moStarter plan$49/mo plus processing
7-person crew$499/moPro plan$49/mo plus processing
15-person crew$899/moScale plan$49/mo plus processing

RevCore Pro: smallest plan whose included seats cover the crew, billed monthly. Annual billing is lower.

Square: Square Plus for one location, the lowest plan with multi-package estimates, payment schedules, and staff timecards. Square prices per location, not per user, so crew size does not change the plan fee. Square Free is $0/mo if you only need basic invoices and estimates. Card processing fees are extra, and Square does not cover dispatch or field job management, so this is not a like-for-like total.

Costs people miss

The monthly plan price is rarely the whole bill.

Contract terms
No long-term contract; Square says you can cancel or switch plans anytime
Payment processing
Card and ACH processing fees are charged on top of any software plan. Compare rates before you commit.

Is Square worth the price?

Square is a payments and point of sale platform that also includes invoices, estimates, contracts, appointment booking, and customer messaging. It has three plans priced per location: Square Free ($0/mo), Square Plus ($49/mo), and Square Premium ($149/mo), plus card processing fees such as 3.3% + 30¢ for online and invoice payments on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. It is not built as contractor job management software, so there is no dispatch board, job costing, or in-home sales presentation.

What Square does well

  • Start free and pay only processing fees
  • Mature, well-known payments with tap to pay on iPhone and Android and card readers
  • Estimates, contracts with e-signature, invoices, and deposits in one free plan
  • Transparent, published processing rates and no long-term contract
  • Per-location pricing with no per-user fee listed

Where it falls short

  • Not built for field service: no dispatch board, routing, job costing, or field photo workflow
  • No in-home sales presentation
  • Multi-package estimates, payment schedules, and timecards require Square Plus
  • Online and invoice card payments cost 3.3% + 30¢ on Square Free

Who Square is priced for

Square is a good fit for

  • Contractors who mainly need to take card payments on site and send invoices
  • Very small businesses that want to start at $0/mo and pay only processing fees
  • Businesses that also sell retail products or need a simple online booking page

It is a weaker fit for

  • Crews that need dispatch, job tracking, and field photos tied to each job
  • Contractors who sell higher-ticket work with an in-home presentation
  • Teams that want a trade-specific CRM and homeowner project portal

Square pricing compared with alternatives

Starting prices and pricing models side by side, from each vendor's own pricing page.

Square pricing compared with alternatives
ToolStarts atPricing model7-person crew
Square$0/moPer-location monthly plans plus per-transaction processing fees$49/mo plus processing
CompanyCam$79/moTiered monthly plans with included users and a per-user fee for extra users$285/mo ($235/mo billed annually)
Jobber$49/moTiered monthly plans priced by team size band, with add-ons and $29/mo per extra user$399/mo ($299/mo billed annually)
Housecall Pro$59/moThree tiered plans billed monthly or annually, with users included per plan and paid add-ons$329/mo ($299/mo billed annually)
RevCore Pro$249/moFlat plans with seats included$499/mo on Pro

How RevCore Pro prices it instead

Three flat plans with seats included: Starter $249/mo for 3 seats, Pro $499/mo for 7, and Scale $899/mo for 15. Extra seats are $49/mo. Two-way texting is included on every plan, and annual billing takes two months off.

Square pricing, common questions

How much does Square cost?

Square starts at $0/mo for the Square Free plan up to $149/mo for Square Premium. For a 7-person crew, expect about $49/mo plus processing.

Does Square charge per user?

Square does not publish a separate per-user fee. Check the plan table above for users included per tier.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Square?

RevCore Pro starts at $249/mo with 3 seats included, $499/mo for 7 seats, and $899/mo for 15 seats, with two-way texting on every plan and a 14-day free trial. Whether it is cheaper depends on your crew size; the table above shows both side by side.

How much does Square cost for contractors?

Square Free is $0/mo, Square Plus is $49/mo per location, and Square Premium is $149/mo per location. You also pay processing fees, for example 3.3% + 30¢ for online and invoice card payments on Free, or 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium.

What are Square's invoice processing fees?

Card payments on invoices are 3.3% + 30¢ on Square Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. ACH bank transfers on invoices are 1% with a $1 minimum, capped at $10 on Plus and Premium. RevCore charges 3.65% + 30¢ for cards and 1% ACH capped at $15, and can build the fee into the estimate.

Can Square do estimates for contractors?

Yes. Square sends estimates by email, text, or link on every plan, and Square Plus adds multi-package estimates with several options. It does not include an in-home presentation or trade-specific job workflow.

What is the best Square alternative for contractors?

If you want payments tied to the job, look at field service tools with built-in payments such as Jobber, Housecall Pro, or RevCore. RevCore adds the in-home presentation and Good / Better / Best quoting on top of scheduling and payments.

Square vs Jobber: which should a contractor use?

Square is cheaper if you only need payments and invoices. Jobber adds scheduling, a client hub, and field job tracking, starting at $29/mo billed annually for one user, with online card payments at 2.9% + 30¢.

Sources and method

Competitor facts come from each vendor’s public pages, checked on the date shown. Pricing changes often and is sometimes sales-quoted, so confirm on the vendor’s site before you buy. RevCore facts come from our pricing page. Product names are trademarks of their owners.

Square alternatives/All comparisons